ASPAC President's Award

The ASPAC President’s Award recognises an individual's outstanding contributions to ASPAC. It was presented for the first time in 2012 at the ASPAC conference in Singapore, with two recipients.

2012 ASPAC President's Award

Dr Chew Tuan Chiong, the former Chief Executive of the Science Centre Singapore, has had an immeasurable influence on the development and success of ASPAC. He was the President of ASPAC from 1999 to 2003, following which he continued to contribute to its management as a member of the Executive Council. He was the first Asian Board Member of the Association of Science-Technology Centres (ASTC), representing ASPAC and feeding back global developments to our regional network. His leadership, intelligence and foresight was instrumental in attracting members to ASPAC and uniting the ASPAC family.

Brenton Honeyman, currently the Manager of Inspiring Australia Strategy at Questacon, was instrumental in bringing ASPAC to where it is today. He was the Treasurer from 1998 to 2003, when he was elected as Secretary. In 2008, he was appointed as the ASPAC Executive Director, a position he held until the end of 2011. He is still actively contributing to the worldwide Science Centre community as one of the three ASPAC representatives on the International Program Committee (IPC) of the Science Centre World Summit.

2014 ASPAC President's Award

Dr Per-Edvin (Pelle) Persson was the Director of Heureka, the Finnish Science Centre from 1991 to 2013. Under Pelle’s leadership Heureka’s reputation as a world leader grew both at home and internationally. It’s innovative exhibitions have been seen in 25 countries across four continents. Pelle is recognised as a world leader in the science centre networks; he has been honoured by ASTC for Outstanding Service in 2007 and was awarded an Honorary Fellow of Escite in 2013. For ASPAC, Pelle has become a trusted friend and guiding light who has been generous with his advice, wisdom and willingness to listen. It is an honour for the ASPAC Presidents Mohri and Brien to award Dr Per-Edvin Persson the 2014 ASPAC President's Award for Outstanding Service to ASPAC.